First, for the digital side, I made an animatic. A animatic is basically an animated storyboard. I draw each of the scenes digital by tracing my drawings on paper from a scanner. I draw them in Paint SAI. Then imported them into Premier Pro with each of layers still moveable. Then done basic animation showing how each scene will link and what movement is in the animation.

Scene draw to animatic screenshot

The digital process in making the animation from start, the making the assets to the final animation in After Effects. I started planning and making each of the assets in Adobe Illustrator. I made the characters, backgrounds, objects and some text in the software. I wanted a basic vector art style which is not very detailed but the viewer can still tell what the the thing is. I made sure I named every shape layer and made sure each unique tree is on a different layer section in Adobe Illustrator. Here are two screen shots on how I made the Trees and hospital.

Screenshot of treeScreenshot of buildding

After I made each of the assets, I exported them into After Effects, so I got every asset ready to animate. A scene or a completely different shot equals a new composition in After Effects. I used key frames to make assets move from the X and Y coords.

Screenshot of animation scene 1

For characters I original used rigging from a plugin called, Duik. Although the end result ended up the characters segments like the arms, floating in mid air. I will need to relook at Duik plugin and 2d Character rigging. Alternately, I used another process of animation character movement. I did a frame by frame to represent movement for the characters.

Screenshot auto rig

I made the doctors frames in Adobe Illustrator, then imported them to After Effect  and made a composition with each frame so it is now ready to put in other compositions with the frames in action.

Doctor 3 Frames

I used other techniques in After Effect to create some of the other scenes. I used a effect called CC 3D Sphere, which I used in another tasks. I used CC 3D Sphere because I needed it as I was making a planet and wanted to change some of the 2d flat art style to look unique and it was easier to make the earth rotate as CC 3D Sphere is a 3D sphere shape but in a 2D format. This is easer compared to frame by frame planet rotation.

Scene 5 Screenshot

This asset was made in Illustrator by using the pen tool to create the countries shapes from tracing them around the net of the actual earth. Then I imported to After Effects then put the CC 3D Sphere effect on top of it.

earth

I made the earth shaky a bit in the scene by using the wiggler. This creates a object to shake a lot to none at all from the Frequency and Magnitude. Select two different keyframe position, then using the Wiggler tab from windows, set if you want it to be smooth, rough, the frequency and magnitude, then hit apply. You should now see more keyframes.

AE wiggler

AE wiggler 2

For another scene, I need to make a ad looking scene. I wanted to make it look like something from the 80s-90s needed. I created the basic shapes in Adobe Illustrator, then I import the asset into After Effects.

80s advert assets Final.png

I wanted it to be quick and fun to look at. The composition is set at 2 seconds. I made the text stretch and pull when it enters the cameras view. I also made the product (the jar) to pop out via its scale while the start spins around which ends up behind the jar.

Scene 4 after effect screnshot

I used easy ease to make the animation keyframes more organic and to change the flow of speed for the position, opacity, rotation, etc. To get easy ease just click the keyframes then usually press F9 or right click, then click key frame assistance, then click easy ease.

Scene 2 part 7 screenshot

I also started on making the audio for the animation. The audio in the animation was a mix of recorded audio and online royalty  free sounds, which is free non copyrighted sounds or music which anyone can use for free. I imported the audio in a software called Audacity where I edited the audio to be clearer, louder, quieter ,etc. Here is the audio for the birds sounds and the wind sounds.

Birds sound screenshotWind sound screenshot

I edited each of the sounds using the Effects tab at the top bar. This can give me variours effects which I can use.  Some examples which I used are: Amplify, Fade In, Fade Out, Phaser. After I edited I exported them as .wav so they are ready to be used in Adobe Premier Pro.

After I made all of the scene compositions, I exported them as .avi files then imported them into Adobe Premier Pro to link all of the scenes together which makes all the animation scenes come together. This is where I link the sound sfx to the animation visauls. I made a new project with the settings of 1920 X 1080. I exported the Adobe Premier Pro as a .mov in H.264 codec.

 

 

 

 

