In class, we made another small After Effects project using the 3D dimensions. We made a 3D 20-30 second animation to show the use of 3D planets and to show how 2D can be affected to 3D.

 

 

 

First we got the lesson resources for the texturing for the planets and background. I made organised files for the After Effects project and put the texture in images. I started out by making each planet having a specific composition. Then I put one of the planet textures in the composition then by adding an effect called CC Sphere it creates a 3D looking sphere. The planet now looks 3D but is still 2D as the effect makes it look 3D but it is just a flat image still. I added the rotations on for 360 to show the planets cycle.

Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 16.18.11.png

I pre-composed it and but in the master composition where the sinec will be taking place. One I made various planets, we will now need to enable them by the 3D tick box at the bottom left menu so we can make the camera do the X,Y,Z positions. I added the space background the furtherest away from the all of the layers so the camera can moved the z axis and wont go through the background,etc.  I placed the planets in random position but aligned them next to the camera movements to show the camera passing the planets.

Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 16.20.14.png

After I made the basic footage which goes on for around 30 seconds, I added another composition for some particles which I used CC particle playground in After Effects on another composition to add that fast space light speed effect.

Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 16.16.20.png

I pre-composed the fast space light speed effect composition into the main projects composition. I changed the layer opacity down to make it blend in with the zooming animation.

Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 16.19.21.png

