My final main poster is design 3 for the London Festival Of Architecture assignment poster:

poster-desing-3-ver-16

 

I put my final poster up on a wall to see if the text and fronts are viewable from various distances:

Note that I slightly changed the ‘OF’ and shadow of the text which was some mini feedback from my Teacher.

Architecture poster final ver on wall.pngarchitecture-poster-final-ver-on-wall-2

 

My two final alliterative spare posters for the assignment are design 1 and design 2

buildding-posters-collage-desing-1-ver-13Poster Desing 2 Ver 10.png

Main final design 3 poster:

Good points:

  • The effect of the overlapping and glowing visual for the Gherkin tower which contrasts well with the black background which makes it like a neon colour style.
  • The overlapping of the title ‘London Festival Of Architecture’ are slightly overlapped by using the characters window in photoshop by using the specific tool, line spacing.
  • The text is bigger enough to see from a distance if the poster is put up in a public place.

 

Bad points:

  • The flowing effect for the Gherkin building can be seen a bit naff and people maybe not like it.
  • The logo could be bigger but is not necessary as it isn’t the main thing the viewer needs to see.
  • Change the background for colours and pattens so it isn’t one black background with
  • some faded colour gradients.

 

Improvements:

  • Try using another building shape like the Shard, London eye for different poster variations rather than using Gherkin.
  • Use different colours then green, light blue and dark blue to give more variation.
  • Maybe fill in the space where there is nothing to see when viewing the poster.

 

Second final design 1 poster:

Good points:

  • The use of colours to show each of the buildings real life colour. For example, Big Ben uses a Stop correcting similar base colours to the one in the poster.
  • The composition for the famous buildings from the smallest in front and the tallest  buildings at the back to create a digital layer collage.
  • The colour outline use, it uses the logos colours and makes it clear which building is switch in the poster. It is used for the buildings outlines but also used in the titles colour.

Bad points:

  • The colouring could of been better by using colours which are linked or better colours for the building to show which building is which by their colour.
  • The shaping could of been better for some of the shapes which may give more detail to the picture.
  • Text could be bigger in scale and can also be more bold and have a eye popping look to it.

Improvements:

  • Use Adobe Kuler to select a set of colours to use for the different building colours.
  • Add more detail to building when making the buildings.
  • Next time will make the title bigger, bolder and maybe different colour.

 

Third final design 2 poster:

Good points

  •  The many different colours which are used in design 2 is pleasing to eye as well colours are bright and medium high saturated.
  •  The brick texture fits well and tell that the poster uses bricks shapes to show the poster is about buildings/ architecture.
  • The use of the logo as it blends in with the other brick/square shapes from the shape of the logo corners being sharp rather than round.

Bad points:

  • The colour for brick texture gaps. The black which was original white colours still doesn’t fit well with the bricks and squares colours.
  • Trying to make the text fit in more with the poster or trying to adapt it with colours to fit.
  • Make main title and text bigger in scale.

Improvements:

  • Make the colour for brick gaps more pleasing to the eye by using a similar colour to the other colours already on the poster.
  • Using different colours, texts and types to fit in more with the poster.
  • Make the Title bigger so it is easier to read on the poster from a distance.

 

General improvements:

When working in Adobe Photoshop, I will check if I am working in CYMK next time. For this assignment I was working in the colour mode RBG which makes the colours limited by Red, Blue and Green mixing when printing. The printer that I used to print was CYMK which my poster was RBG which made the colours limited and the quality not as good comparing it to CYMK.

 

Comparing to official professional work: 

Comparing my work to some progression work shows it have similar features. I will compare my work to Paul Rands poster design I used his artwork for research. A specific poster artwork which Paul Rand made is called ‘Eye Bee M’ which was made in 1981.

Similarities to my poster to Paul Rands poster is the use of the colours shows that both use limited colours by using them effectively. Both have a black background which effects the other saturated colours which makes it pop out from the dark colours which makes effect so it is easier to spot when looking from a distance.  Paul Rands poster uses red, green, orange and blue to use for the main shapes he created for the poster which is a eye, bee and the letter M which links to the title of the poster: Eye, Bee and M. He also used the colour white which can reverse the contrast of the black background.

The colours which are used green, light blue and dark blue and white (not including logo colours). I used the white colour effectively which contrast from the black background, same as Paul Rands poster. I used a very similar number of colours in the poster. Paul Rand used eight colours in total (including background and minor colours). My poster uses six main colours which show that I didn’t over use the main colours. The colours I used are effective for my poster as it pops out from the black background.

The only similar layout choice from my poster to Paul Rands poster show that Pauls Rands signature is show in the bottom right conner to show who is it by.  A similar thing for the layout is done for my poster to show the that the logo is placed in the bottom left corner as well. Difference are mainly show in the composition for each of the posters.

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-16-06-30

Paul Rands used the rule of three by using the horizontal upper line to aline the main shapes to it. This makes the viewer tilt there eyes above by a bit as it is unnatural to see the main focus of the picture/poster right in the middle. Paul Rand used the upper rule of three as a guide to where to place the pictures onto the portrait poster.

Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 16.11.52.png

I used the rule of three guides to guide me through where to position pictures and text to make it pleasing focused in some areas. My main use for the rule of three shows that I used it more to guide and fill up the poster. I alined the Gherkin on the left horizontal line from the rule of three composition layout. Then I used the top vertical and right horizontal line to aline the text for the poster.

My poster has more visuals to see than Paul Rand but Paul Rand was trying to show the effect of being basic for his posters. Another difference is Paul Rands is not using basic flat shapes. Paul Rands for Eye Bee M poster only used basic shapes with not texturing. All of his edges where flat and not smoothed out. My poster shows that the colours are flat but I used effects like the glowing effect to betray my poster to show something similar to neo lighting.

I also used the stroke effect for the text which can be seen by a bold pink outline for the word ‘Architecture’ which outline colour relates to the logos colour. For over texts like the other words in the title and date it shows that it uses a thin black outline to make the world more seeable and stand out by a bit more. Other differences show that I made shadows for the Gherkin and text by copying and moving slightly to the left and turning down the opacity levels to 10%. I also made the background not plain black. I added low transparent colour gradients of green, blue and dark blue to give more colour into the background but still making the background dominating colour, black.

The similarities and differences shown to the professional poster work for Paul Rand to my poster design work show that there are some positives which are supported from Paul Rands work by him using the techniques which I similarly used for poster for example: Paul Rand I used the contrast from black to saturated colours. The difference from my work to Paul Rands show that it makes my poster more unique to his poster by adding the shadows and glowing effects.

Comparing similarities and differences to the my research/ideas to the my final product:

-Research:

paul-rand-poster-anylises

For my research I original looked at Paul Rand which links to the most to my final poster design. From the simple limited colours he used and how he shows shaping by simple flat curved, straight shapes. I researched his existing poster to get inspiration for my poster which you can see. From the simple use of colours and almost flat shapes on my one. This shows that how both mine  and Paul Rends poster uses simple shapes to tell and show what is the meaning of the poster. I even used his professional work to compare the similarities and difference between each posters.

-Ideas:

architecture-festicals-poster-desing-mindmap-ideas

By reflecting my research/ideas to my final product. You can see that my final product was developed over time from the texture, shaping, colours, etc. I tried many different ways to show my ideas and how it can show different colours, texturing and different dimensions of views for the Gherkin. From my mind map originally I was thinking to use the striped glass texture from the Gherkin for one of my posters. Then I developed the idea to make  my poster designs just for the Gherkin tower.

I also was thinking when making the mind map at the time how can I show curved lines from buildings in London which I made poster design 3 to use curved lines from the unique building, The Gherkin uses curved lines to show the  structure of the building then straight lines for the pattern which is on the glass of the Gherkin.

Overview:

I do like my final poster design from its colours, shaping and layout. I like its glow effect. The title to me looks cool by having the title overlap with the other parts of the title. The colours are cleverly used for the Gherkin tower and the title which are linked to the Gherkin from the colours.

I like the uniqueness of the final designs from the other two design as it used a dark background compared to the two other design which uses more saturated and colourful backgrounds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

