The first task I needed to do was to do some research by doing various things. The research will be used to inspire new ideas for the three poster I need to make. I will be researching ideas for some main features for a poster which are the layout, composition, colour and use of font and type. The research I will be doing will be: from existing posters, the internet, some books, history of print, etc.

History of print:

History of printing timeline.png

I have done research on prints to show the many different types of print and how it has developed since 1400 to the present. For my poster it is going to be A3 posters usually get offset lithographic print for industry. For poster to be printed at home it is usually Inkjet printing. Although Inkjet uses RBG ink colours more then present printers switched to CYMK ink colours which lithographic printing uses.

Research – Existing posters:

The layout, composition, colour, and use of font/type are key for making posters. I research some existing poster from the artists: Bauhaus and Paul Rand.

The first poster analyse I have looked at was Bauhaus existing poster:

bauhaus-poster-analyse

 

Another existing poster I looked at was a Paul Rand poster:

paul-rand-poster-anylises

 

A poster I found by google images was another existing poster. Although I couldn’t find the artist of the poster so I have linked to the original website where it was under the picture.

Poster analyse.png

 

[Sources:

https://www.behance.net/gallery/1614887/London-Festival-of-Architecture-Poster ]

 

The posters I had looked at to get key features visuals, colours, styles and composition are which have  inspired me to make my own poster. The posters used have around 4-5 colours in the posters. The architecture posters  uses basic shapes to form a complexed shaping which is used to show on the posters. The typography various through all of the three posters. Comparing Paul Rand poster to the third poster I looked at. Paul Rands poster just uses serif text which is formal and could say it is old. The third poster uses san-serif which make it modern and a classy style.

Comparing all of the posters you can see the third poster only uses real photography which are the bricks. All of the others were using shapes which were made from scratch. The printing techniques the artists used was that Paul Rand said that he made his poster from graphics design as he is a graphics designer which was stated in his Biography: [ http://www.paul-rand.com/foundation/biography/#.WDwRRqKLS_A ].

Bauhaus printing techniques was the same as he was a graphics designer as well. The creator of the poster fro the third poster, on the website shows she is using more non digital tools for example the bricks where taken in real life by a camera and then edited in Adobe Photoshop and then composed in Adobe Indesign.

I will be taking the features from these three posters to develop for my ideas which I will be sketching in task 2.

Books:

Other research, was from a book about typography. The book which I have chosen to research was called “Lettera 2” which was by Armin Haab and Walter Haettenschweiler. The book gave different fonts which gave me inspiration to use similar fonts ideas to use in my poster. Here are some of the fronts which appeal to me and inspired me to make similar fronts in my poster typography.

Lettera 2 book.png

typeograph-book-sheet-2

typeograph-book-sheet-1

Internet/computer:

I used the internet to look up buildings due to the posters we are making are for London Architecture Festival which includes famous buildings around in London. I made two mood boards in Photoshop showing the architecture of London.

London builddings mood board.png

This mood board shows famous building in London which are modem tall buildings. The mood board will help me get textures, shaping and colours from the existing buildings in London.

London details textures, shapes.png

The second mood board show more in depth shaping and textures of London buildings which can help me more to get ideas. From the texturing of buildings and shaping I will be able to make similar squares or curved poster designs to show the effects and why I used curved/squared shaping in my poster.

Ideas/final research notes planning graphs:

I used  two graphs to put ideas and general information’s about the three posters I will be making. First I made a mind map to put information about buildings/architecture  down with thoughts of colours, composition, typography and layering in a mind map to show my thoughts and ideas in my head onto paper.

mind-map

I expanded these ideas more in-depth for Task 2 by sketching and making other graphs.

The research I have done I can reflect on and take and make new ideas for my posters which will inspire features from existing posters, books and the knowledge of print. The research will be helpful for me when I do task 2 which is to make ideas by using various art techniques like drawings, painting, etc. This will express myself and show my ideas and development for my main two poster which are London Architecture Festival 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

